• 2018 Cloud leadership Award Winners

    Cornell University was declared the overall winner in in 2018. Cornell hosts a Cloud Forum which creates the opportunity for technology industry leaders to meet to have impactful, valuable conversations about cloud use within higher education.

    From left to right: Christy Long, Director of Application Infrastructure at Penn State University (Collaboration Category winner), Sarah Christen, Director of IT Infrastructure at Cornell University (Overall winner), Bob Flynn, Manager Cloud Technology Support at Indiana University.

A total of 12 awards across 6 categories were given. Here they are:

Category 1


Evaluated based on the creative use of cloud technologies to address institutional challenges and/or operational efficiencies

  • Winner: Arizona State University
  • Runner-up: Oral Roberts University

Category 2


Evaluated based on the use of cloud technologies to address collaboration between one or more individual institutions, or one or more branch campuses within an institutional system

  • Winner: Penn State University
  • Runner-up: Montana State University

Category 3

Backup/Disaster Recovery

Evaluated based on the most complete use of cloud technologies to address overall institutional backup and or disaster recovery needs

  • Winner: Harvard University
  • Runner-up: UMBC

Category 4

Cloud Storage

Evaluated based on the complete use of cloud technologies to address institution-wide administrative and academic storage challenges for staff, faculty and/or students

  • Winner: Duquesne University
  • Runner-up: Northeastern Illinois University

Category 5

Public/Private Cloud Security

Evaluated based on the best application and/or approach to securing institutional public and/or private cloud resources

  • Winner: Emory University
  • Runner-up: University of Arizona UITS

Category 6

Hybrid Iaas/Paas

Evaluated based on the best application and design for an institutional infrastructure and platform as a service solution

  • Winner: Northeastern Illinois University
  • Runner-up: UMBC

Thank you to our 2018 sponsors, Canon, D2L, DLT and Juniper. Congratulations to Paul Erickson, Assistant Director for Enterprise Architecture at University of Nebraska for winning our TV raffle, provided by DLT.